Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

So, I've got an EDH deck featuring Wort, Boggart Auntie as my General. I really want to exploit her ability for all it's worth, so I've been looking for different goblins that have "Enters the Battlefield" effects and/or sacrifice effects. I can across two with Echo that seem like they'd work really well: Mogg War Marshal and Stingscourger.

Let's say that I cast Mogg War Marshal last turn and that I have Wort in play. During my upkeep, can I decline Mogg War Marshal's Echo cost, sending it to the graveyard and then retrieve it with Wort?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

If a triggered ability has a target, you have to choose the target when it goes on the stack. The target has to be valid both when the ability triggers, and when it resolves. From the rulebook:

114.1d A triggered ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase “target [something],” where the “something” is a phrase that describes an object, player, or zone. The target(s) are chosen as the ability is put on the stack; see rule 603.3d.

You get to choose the order in which the triggers go on the stack. But in this case, that won't help you. Wort's trigger always happens before Marshall's trigger resolves. So when Wort's trigger goes on the stack, the Marshall is not yet in the graveyard. So it is not a valid target for Wort's ability.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.