Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Partner opened with 2C -- I responded with 2D (I have 2 pts)-- Partner responded with 3C.

Is the rebid 3C by partner forcing me to bid (I don’t have enough clubs) or can I pass here?

It's just that I heard from some sources the advice "with strong hand '2C' - the partnership must get to game."

On the other hand however, we might have 25 pts, but not have 8-card fit, or stopper in suit for NT play.

Is it legal to pass?

share|improve this question
1  
What was your specific holding? That would be useful here. –  Steven Stadnicki Jun 12 '13 at 18:52
add comment

4 Answers

Your partner's strong bidding has shown a very strong hand, probably 25-27 points, with a preference for a club game (probably because he has six clubs). He needs very little extra help to get to game, and possibly not just in clubs.

If you have three or more clubs, bid four clubs. That gives you and partner nine, he is a favorite to "drop" an opposing queen, and that might just be enough for his game.

Otherwise, bid your longest and strongest suit. That could be a five or six carder with no honors xxxxx(x), or a four card suit headed by your queen or jack. If you have Jxxx in two suits, and one of them is a major, bid three of the major; bid three hearts if you have hearts and spades.

With his humongous strength, partner is probably "plastered" (with 8-10 points) in two suits, and very strong (5-7 points) in a third. He may even have a singleton honor in your best suit, in which case he will bid three NT. Alternatively, he may have AKx (or better) in your (hopefully) major suit, and be able to go to a major suit game.

What partner needs to know most from you is "distribution." He has the strength for a game if there is any sort of fit.

I would bid e.g. three spades with as little as (s) xxxxx (h) xxxx (d) xxx (c)x or (s) Jxxx (h) xxxx (d) xxxx (c) x. The fifth spade is worth a point, and so is the Jack.

You can pass 2 clubs only when one of the following bids has been made: 2NT, three of a major, of four of a minor. So make one of those bids.

share|improve this answer
1  
As the 3C bid remains unlimited, it cannot be passed in any circumstance. Partner may be trying to choose between Grand Slams for all that has been revealed so far. –  Pieter Geerkens Dec 1 '13 at 17:26
add comment

These kind of issue, of course, mostly depends on your agreement with your partner.

but I think making 2C - 2D - 3C passable is ill advised.

just ask yourself this question: If partner can allow you to pass now, why didn't s/he just open 1C?

to open 2C with unbalanced hands: you will need 9+ tricks for major(s), and 10+ trick for minor(s)

share|improve this answer
add comment

It's "legal", as in not against the law; but ill advised if you expect and desire to play with this partner again.

Modern agreements tend to the line of "forcing to 2NT, or 3 of a major, or 4 of a minor".

This guarantees the 2C opener 3 calls to define the hand, and infers that a 2C opening based on a strong minor suit must either be suitable for NT or about a trick better than one based on a strong major suit.

Also, consider partner's problem with a strong club or diamond hand. How could partner possibly describe this hand without the assurance of not being passed in a 3C or 3D rebid?

Update:
In regards to your specific situation, I would rank possible bids over partner's 3C rebid in this order with 2 HCP as follows:

  • Bid 3 of any 6-card suit
  • Bid 4C with 3 or more of them
  • Bid any 5-card suit at the three level
  • Bid 3D with Qxxx or JTxx of diamonds in an unbalanced hand, in case partner want to show a two-suiter
  • Bid 3NT otherwise

Your 3NT should never end up as the final contract, because partner has denied all interest in NT by bidding 3C. This bid denies any extremely unbalanced hand, by failing the criteria for all the higher preferences; this is valuable to partner in assessing level and denomination.

If partner continues with 4C over any of these calls, you can pass. If partner bids a new suit this continues the force, and you must choose between:

  • bid a new suit to show your value and promise 4+ support in partner's second suit;
  • Jump in a new suit to show a singleton and 4+ support for partner's second suit;
  • single-raise partner's suit with 3 or 4 of them.
  • preference back to clubs with exactly 2 of them.

No other possibilities exist. This scheme is not in any way conventional, but simply common-sense natural bidding. Even the splinter jump has become a natural call, as what is termed an "impossible value-showing hand", and thus must be the exact opposite of it's literal meaning: instead of strong, length-showing denying support, it must be weak, shortness showing, and confirming support. While not all partners will recognize this call, all experts will.

If partner bids 4NT over your rebid this is Blackwood (with clubs as trump if you play key-card), and consequently forcing.

share|improve this answer
    
4C over 3NT might have a range of meanings in this situation; in any case, I really don't think you can pass a bid that takes you out of game. And even if 'all experts will recognise this' scheme, it may not help a player who's uncertain which bids are forcing. (I agree with you, by the way; just saying this is a site for Bridge beginners as much as mavens.) –  TimLymington Jun 12 '13 at 23:18
    
Unless partner is wearing his hair-shirt today, yes 4C can be passed. The 2C opening and 3C rebid showed 9 1/2 tricks, and with luck the Q will generate the remaining 1/5 trick to let partner make 4C. No need to punish partner for being dealt a minimum 2C opener. –  Pieter Geerkens Jun 12 '13 at 23:59
add comment

Questions like this depend on what you have agreed with partner (presumably not applicable here) or the default for your system. The default for Acol, for example, is that, unless the bidding goes 2C-2D-2NT, you must continue until game is reached. Here, partner is showing a long club suit as well as points, and would like to know your best suit before deciding on which game.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.