Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Player A is at 6life, Player B at 20 life. Player A resolves a Scapeshift and sacrifices 9 lands for 3 Valakut, the Molten Pinnacles and 6 Mountains. This will trigger 18 times 3 damage (I think). In answer to that, Player B resolve Divine Deflection where X=6 targeting Player A. Is this game a draw, player A or player B wins?

share|improve this question
2  
The answer to the question in the title is actually no. A player loses the next time state based actions are checked after they reach 0 or less life. This rarely matters but it means you could, for example, cause a draw by targeting your opponent and then yourself with Arc Trail, even though it deals damage to them before you :) //useless-nitpick –  Affe May 28 '13 at 23:35
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Player A loses.

  1. Eighteen instances of Valakut's triggered ability will go on the stack.
  2. Divine Deflection is cast and eventually resolves.
  3. Trigger #18 resolves. It deals no damage and Divine Deflection deals three damage to Player A.
  4. Trigger #17 resolves. It deals no damage and Divine Deflection deals three damage to Player A.
  5. Player A loses the game for having non-positive life.
  6. Player B wins the game for being the only player left.
share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.