Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Well card text:

During the producer phase, if the owner of a well produces at least 2 goods, he draws an additional card from the card supply, adding it to his hand. It matters not whether he is the producer or not.

Let's say i have two production buildings.
The first is busy (one card face down on it), second one is empty.
Producer phase starts, i'm not the producer, so i produce an additional good on my second building.

So I produced one good at this specific phase and I'm currently producing two goods in total as I have 2 busy production buildings at the end of the phase.

Question: should I draw an additonal card in this case?


Edit:

Another way to formulate the question would be:

Which one of this rewritten rule corresponds to the rule? :

  1. During the producer phase, if the owner of a well produces at least 2 new goods, he draws an additional card from the card supply, adding it to his hand.

  2. During the producer phase, if the total number of goods lying on production buildings is at least 2, he draws an additional card from the card supply, adding it to his hand.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 2 down vote accepted

No, you do not draw an extra card.

The rules say the following under the Producer role:

If a player has no empty production buildings, he produces no goods in this round.

Consequently it's established that the production of a good is dependent on the availability of a building to do so. If you only have one production building free then you can only produce at most one good, and so you do not qualify for the Well bonus.


In answer to the edited part of the question:

The correct interpretation of the rule is rule 1 - i.e. the goods must be new.

I think your misunderstanding is shown by the following statement "I'm currently producing two goods in total". This is not correct - you have produced one good already, and in the current phase you are producing one new good.

Note that to produce two goods in a single Producer phase you must either be the Producer, or have an Aquaduct built.

share|improve this answer
    
I do think too that you do not draw an extra card but I am not completely convinced by the explanation. Maybe it's just my english because "during" + "produce" suggest that the 2 products have to be produced at that specific phase (and not spread on multiple phases), is that right? –  kraymer May 30 '13 at 12:41
    
@kraymer Yes, you're right - "During the producer phase" implies that the following events have to happen within a single producer phase (i.e. the production of at least two goods). The goods have to be new, cards already on top of production buildings have already been produced (i.e. they represent goods, not the production of goods). –  tttppp May 30 '13 at 12:47
    
Thanks, I mistakenly played with rule 2 yesterday and the Well was a hell of a card :D –  kraymer May 30 '13 at 13:00
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.