Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When playing Sorin, Lord of Innistrad, I know I add 1 loyalty counter at my upkeep. However if I have 6 loyalty my questions are:

  1. Can I play the -2 ability twice or only once per upkeep?
  2. My other question is can I play +1 and then -2 on the same upkeep?
share|improve this question
1  
You may wish to read this. –  Alex P Jun 6 '13 at 13:44
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 8 down vote accepted

I know I add 1 loyalty counter at my upkeep.

huh? no. Outside of the effect of a spell or ability, you only add loyalty counters onto Sorin when you place it on the battlefield, and when you activate its +1 Loyalty ability.

Can I play the -2 ability twice or only once per upkeep?

No, for two reasons.

  1. You can't play it during your upkeep at all. Loyalty abilities can only be used "as a sorcery". (On your turn, in a main phase, when the stack is empty.)

  2. You can only activate an ability of a given Planeswalker once per turn.

My other question is can I play +1 and then -2 on the same upkeep?

No, for the same reasons.


606.3. A player may activate a loyalty ability of a permanent he or she controls any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of his or her turn, but only if no player has previously activated a loyalty ability of that permanent that turn.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks, I will accept your answer shortly. Have a 10 min counter. That makes sense and clears up my confusion. –  Damainman Jun 6 '13 at 5:20
    
Added the rule. –  ikegami Jun 6 '13 at 5:22
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.