Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Since I fairly new to the Regeneration deal I have a question about regenerating Hydra creatures with +1/+1 counters on them. My friend seems to think that if he Doom Blades, Supreme Verdicts, or any destroy creatures/target creature on my side of the field, that I can't use the regeneraton effect from Golgari Charm on my Primordial Hydra or Savageborn Hydra. He thinks that they become 0/0's and the counters thus go away so regenerating a Hydra with no +1/+1 counters on it since I cant recast it means my Hydras are dead. Is this correct?

share|improve this question
some of the confusion here may well be a result of the card Protean Hydra, which would behave exactly in the way your friend described if it had 3 +1/+1 counters on it and was targeted with lightning bolt. – Patters Jun 20 '13 at 9:10

Those two spells Destroy. Regeneration replaces destruction, which means the destruction doesn't happen, which means it doesn't cause anything to go to the graveyard. If you cast the regeneration mode of Golgari Charm in response to Doom Blade or Supreme Verdict, your Hydras will be safe. They will not lose counters, enchantments, or equipment; they don't gain summoning sickness; spells targeting them don't lose sight of them; LTB and ETB abilities don't trigger; etc.

614.8. Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. The word “instead” doesn’t appear on the card but is implicit in the definition of regeneration. “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.” Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates. See rule 701.12.

Regeneration will not save the Hydras from being sent to the graveyard as a result of having non-positive toughness, but nothing in the scenario you gave reduces their toughness (by removing +1/+1 counters or otherwise).

share|improve this answer
Thank you. Looks like I will be making room for those Golgari Charms after all. – Iceberg Jun 7 '13 at 1:16

I think the confusion stems from a belief that regeneration causes the creature to leave the battlefield, but come back(like persist does).

But the rules just says to remove the damage and remove the creature from combat Instead of destroying it(it's a replacement effect). It is continuously on the battlefield during the entire process.

share|improve this answer
Your comment makes me think a "resurrection shield" (akin to persist/undying) would be a cool, if confusing mechanic. – corsiKa Jun 7 '13 at 23:11
"Gains persist/undying until end of turn" kind of does it, I suppose. – David Z Jun 8 '13 at 8:58

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.