Sign up ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Sid Meier's Civilization, the Communism technology allows another players' movement to be interrupted to prevent figures from leaving a specific square.

What exactly does this mean, does this mean that if my opponent says I'm moving from here to there to attack you, and I spend the Spy resource to interrupt movement, I make him stay in his original square?

Or does it mean that my opponent must always move his figures 1 square at a time, and I play the Spy resource to stop him in his tracks as he moves?

Is there an official answer to this somewhere?

share|improve this question

4 Answers 4

up vote 1 down vote accepted

You may interrupt the figures movement in any place between the starting point and ending point. Including the starting and ending points.

This can be argued By the official FAQ (v.2.0)

Q: If a player has the Navigation tech and is moving a figure across water but cannot end in water, and his opponent stops that figure’s movement in a water square using the resource ability on the Communism tech, what happens?

A: The figure stops in the water square. In this case, the resource ability on the Communism tech overrides the rule that figures cannot end their movement in water

In this case, the moving player was intented to move from the other side of the lake/river to the other side. The movement was interrupted with the spy between the starting and the ending point.

In practice, if for example my friend is attacking me in his turn, coming from 5 tiles away and says "draw your cards, I'll attack you", I would respond "hold on a second, mate. I'll got a spy in you camp.. ;).Now just say that which route you used to come over here..?". He now shows the route and I use my spy and say "This is the place where my spy came in and interrupted your movement".

The Itchis huge summary of Official and Unofficial rules and clarifications in BGG has more notes on the Communism tech.

share|improve this answer

You make him stay at original place. You can do this to any figure, even if the figure is planning to attack someone else and not you. The reason it says "may interrupt a movement" is that you are allowed to use this ability out of your turn, when someone else is doing the movement you can interrupt them. You dont necessarily have to use this ability in your own movement turn.

share|improve this answer
I already know that it can be used out of my turn. That wasn't the question. –  ardavis Sep 4 '13 at 19:50

The answer to your question was the first sentence "You make him stay at original place". So for that entire turn, the figure cant move.

share|improve this answer
How do you know that the opponent isn't supposed to move his figures one square at a time, and then when I 'interrupt' him, he stops his figures, and doesn't return them to the original location? –  ardavis Dec 13 '13 at 15:40

The spy operates to prevent movement into the first land square that it controls.

If your piece is starting on land, your spy can prevent it from moving to any adjacent land square, thereby "freezing" it in place.

If your piece is starting on sea, the spy can prevent it from "landing" (that is reaching any available land square). It has to remain at sea, overriding other rules that say that it is not supposed to remain at sea.

share|improve this answer
Where exactly does it tell that it must be a land square? –  np8 Feb 12 at 18:21
@np8: Spies operate on land. –  Tom Au Feb 12 at 19:09

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.