Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Wyrm has the following text:

1[Credit]: Ice has -1 strength.

Parasite has the following text:

Host ice has -1 strength for each virus counter on Parasite and is trashed if its strength is 0 or less.

If I understand this correctly, if I place a Parasite card on an ICe's, and use Wyrm's (somewhat expensive) ability to lower an ICe's strength, I can bring it down to 0 and then Parasite will kick in and kill it. Am I missing something?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes, this combo works.

Parasite will trash any ice as soon as it has zero (or lower) strength, regardless of how that strength was lowered (i.e. it doesn't only trigger from Parasite's counters).

Other cards that combo with Parasite include Datasucker:

Whenever you make a successful run on a central server, place 1 virus counter on Datasucker. Hosted virus counter: Rezzed piece of ice currently being encountered has -1 strength until the end of the encounter.

or Ice Carver:

All ice is encountered with its strength lowered by 1.

share|improve this answer
1  
Just note that you have to "encounter" the ice before you can pump Wyrm up and then lower the target ice down to 0. This means a DataRaven will still tag you, a Tollbooth will still cost you 3C etc. –  Nick Jun 10 '13 at 9:12
    
@Nick - True, but not if I use the Datasucker combo offered by Johno. Nice! –  Aviad Ben Dov Jun 13 '13 at 18:16
3  
@AviadBenDov Its also true with Datasucker; you have to encounter ICE before you can use Datasucker on it. Only IceCarver will lower the Strength before the "on encounter" abilities trigger. –  Nick Jun 14 '13 at 9:18
2  
@AviadBenDov Nick is correct. "On encounter" effects are triggered before you get the opportunity to use paid abilities (such as the one on Datasucker). If Ice Carver reduces the strength to 0, Parasite can trash (e.g.) Tollbooth before the effect, because neither requires a paid ability to do so. –  Johno Jun 14 '13 at 9:33

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.