Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In the Seafarer's Expansion for Settlers of Catan, is the Road Building Development card applicable for ships?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

Yes, the Road Building Development Card can be used for ships or roads.

From the Seafarers rules, page 5.

When playing the “Road Building” Development Card in a game of Seafarers, you have the option of building 2 roads, 2 ships, or 1 ship and 1 road.

share|improve this answer

The "Road Building" progress card in Cities & Knights explicitly states that, when playing with Seafarers, you can play either 2 roads, 2 ships, or 1 of each.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.