Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
  • The table cards were A,K,K,8,3.
  • All four suits were on the board.
  • Player one had A,8.
  • Player two had A,3.

Is this a split pot?

share|improve this question

Yes, it is a split pot. Both players have AAKK8. You always make your best 5 card hand from the cards available. From Wikipedia:

A hand always consists of five cards. In games where more than five cards are available to each player, the best five-card combination of those cards must be played. Any cards not included in the hand do not affect its ranking. For example, if player A holds 3♠ Q♦ and player B holds 3♣ A♣, and five cards 4♣ 5♦ 6♦ 7♠ 10♥ are available to both players, the players hold equally ranking 3-4-5-6-7 straights despite the fact that the player B's ace ranks higher than the player A's queen.

share|improve this answer
Wow 20 upvotes. I guess i should start asking and answering poker questions. – user1873 Jun 22 '13 at 3:10

The best hand in either case would be two-pair with 8 as a kicker (A-A-K-K-8); it makes no difference if the 8 came from the table or from the hole cards. Since suit also doesn't matter, the hands would tie.

So yes, it would be a split pot.

share|improve this answer

If the table were A, K, K, 7, 3, the A-8 hand would win. The same would be true if the table were say, A, K, 8, 7, 3. Then the A-8 holder would have Aces and eights with a K kicker, while the A-3 holder would have A, A, 3,3, K, a weaker second pair.

But the actual table gives the A-3 holder A, A, K,K, 8, same as the A-8 holder. That leads to a split pot.

The 8 on the table "counterfets" (nullifies) the effect of the superior 8 kicker held by the fist hand. At the same time, the second pair of kings means that the A-8 does NOT beat A-3 with the better second pair.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.