Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've recently come back to playing Monopoly, but one thing that's intrigued me is the following card, in the Chance pile.

enter image description here

The wording says "Advance to go (Collect $200)". Modern versions, like the one I have in my home, are "Advance to GO, Collect $200".

My question is, what exactly does it mean, when it says "Collect $200"? Since there's also a message on the GO tile, stating "As you pass GO, collect $200", does this mean if I draw the card above, I can collect $400 in one go? $200 from what the card says, and another $200 from the board?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 17 down vote accepted

No, you only collect $200 dollars, not $400. From the official rules:

Each time a player's token lands on or passes over GO, whether by throwing the dice or drawing a card, the Banker pays that player a $200 salary. The $200 is paid only once each time around the board.

You only land on GO once, so you only get one payout. The message on the card is just to remind you that landing on GO also pays out.

However, there's nothing stopping you playing this variant as a house rule, which is not uncommon:

According to the official rules each player receives $200 for passing Go. However, due to the Chance and Community Chest cards which instruct players to Advance to Go and Collect $200 - A popular house rule is that you collect $200 for landing on Go plus $200 for actually passing Go. Therefore, it is common to pay someone $400 for landing directly on Go: $200 for actually landing on Go plus the $200 as an advance for their next move when they literally pass Go.

share|improve this answer

In monopoly there are two kinds of cards that move you around the board. Ones are that keep moving you clockwise until you hit the set square. This is one of them. On those cards it says to collect 200 if you pass go. In this case you are landing on it directly.

The other types of cards move you directly to a square. This may be the only one but it makes the point. "Go directly to jail, do not pass go do not collect $200" Go o jail

So to answer your question, the reason that text is on the card is just to differentiate it from the go to jail card

share|improve this answer

protected by doppelgreener Oct 26 at 8:03

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality answers, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.