Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Personal Workshop

When your turn begins, remove 1 power counter from a hosted card. When there are no power counters left on a hosted card, install it, ignoring all costs.

[Click]: Host a program or a piece of hardware from your grip on Personal Workshop and place power counters on it equal to its install cost.

1 [credit]: Remove 1 power counter from a hosted card.

  1. I am the Runner.
  2. I have nothing but Personal Workshop installed.
  3. I have 20 [credits].
  4. I have 1 of each icebreaker hosted on Personal Workshop with a variable amount of power counters on them.
  5. I start a run.
  6. The Corp rezzes an ICE of type X.
  7. I pay Y [credits] to remove all the remaining Y [power counters] from icebreaker Z.
  8. Icebreaker Z is now installed per the last listed ability on Personal Workshop.

1 [credit] : Remove 1 [power counter] from a hosted card.

  1. I can continue my run, but now with the icebreaker I need installed.

Is this correct?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes, Personal Workshop allows you to install programs/hardware during a run. You have already paid the click to host them though, so all its really doing is allowing you to defer payment until they are needed.

This does allow you to install a Femme Fatale after the corp rezzes and Ice, targeting that Ice for the special bypass, and then bypass the Ice as you encounter it that turn. Or to install a parasite on an Ice after its rezzed, and then immediately lower its Strength to 0 so it gets trashed using Wyrm/Datasuckers when you encounter it.

share|improve this answer
Then it works like I've been playing it... thank you! – randomblink Jun 20 '13 at 16:31

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.