Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Captain Tycho (Blood Angels Codex, 5ED) can be chosen as either as "Captain Tycho" or "Death Company Tycho". I haven't found any indication that you must have a Death Company to include the DC version of Tycho.

Can I have an army with "Death Company Tycho" but with no Death Company?

share|improve this question


He is an individual model. He does not come attached to the Death Company nor can he join it, because he is not an Independent Character (the 'normal' version is an Independent Character). This is how the rules are written and was confirmed in the Blood Angels FAQ published on the Games Workshop website, last updated February 2013:

Q: Are the Sanguinor, Mephiston and Death Company Tycho Independent Characters, or single model units in their own right? (p.41, 47, 51)

A: Single model units in their own right.

share|improve this answer
Wow. I've just noticed (after your post) that "Independent Character" is, in fact, missing from those 3 profiles in the codex. – BlakBat Jun 23 '13 at 22:36

Here is an official e-mail answer from Games Workshop customer service:

I cannot find any restrictions, so I believe you can take Death Company Tycho without a unit of Death Company.


David Monroe

Games Workshop

North America Customer Services

share|improve this answer
Just clarifying: are you posting this as yourself, or is this an e-mail reply that GW sent you (in which case I'd like to edit it to look like a quote)? – Alex P Jun 25 '13 at 18:04
It's an e-mail I received from – randomblink Jun 25 '13 at 18:45
Thanks! I modified your original answer slightly to include the info. – Alex P Jun 25 '13 at 19:00

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.