Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If your opponent has a standstill on an otherwise empty board, is there a way to remove it without your opponent drawing cards?

krosan grip doesn't work because split-second doesn't apply to triggered abilities, and stifle or trickbind don't work either, because they themselves will trigger the ability.

share|improve this question
The only thing I can think of is to counter it. Even if you try and exile it in response to it triggering, it will just trigger again and go back on the stack. –  Pow-Ian Jun 21 '13 at 20:11
Honestly the best strategy is probably to play into it. Standstill decks don't mind the stalemate. The cards that answer it are prohibitively narrow and overcosted for Legacy play. Or force them to break their own Standstill by being a lands deck yourself, I suppose. ;) –  Alex P Jun 21 '13 at 22:58
as Alex says, play into it. The way to deal with standstill is to ask yourself "Can I comfortably win the game without casting another spell". If you cannot answer "Yes", then play as if the standstill isn't there and accept the card draw. –  Patters Jun 24 '13 at 8:01

3 Answers 3

up vote 5 down vote accepted

You need to look for abilities that can be activated from places other than the 'field, since abilities don't trigger Standstill.

You can cycle Resounding Wave targeting Standstill and a land, as cycling is an activated ability it won't cause Standstill to trigger.

702.27a Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a player’s hand. “Cycling [cost]” means “[Cost], Discard this card: Draw a card.”

share|improve this answer

You can counter it when it is being cast.

If you wanted to ensure that if it triggers it does not get a chance to be sacraficed, then you need to use an ability that wipes the stack like the one found on Sundial Of the Infinite.

Another way would be to destroy it without casting a spell. You could use the ability of a creature already on the battlefield to destroy it after it is played.

share|improve this answer
If your opponent has a standstill on an otherwise empty board –  Sam I am Jun 21 '13 at 20:17
oh wait you are saying you have an empty board also? if so I don't think there is anything you can do. because everything you are going to do is going to trigger it's ability. –  Pow-Ian Jun 21 '13 at 20:34
@Pow-Ian, you need to look for abilities that can be activated from places other than the 'field. As Akedren points out, Resounding Wave has such an ability. –  ikegami Jun 21 '13 at 21:44

EDIT: Below answer actually won't work, because Standstill is only sacrificed when its triggered ability resolves. It will trigger again from the Stifle and the second trigger will resolve before Stifle does.

Play any spell so that Standstill triggers. Then play Stifle to counter the trigger.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.