Suppose that my investigator currently has a fight of 4, and a Rifle (Combat +5). Is the number of dice I get to roll during combat limited by the in-box equipment (5), or can I roll 9 dice (5 dice + 4 dice)?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
Roll as many dice as you need to (nine, in your case). The relevant bit in the rules, I suppose, is:
There's also an example, under Weapon and Skill Limits, saying:
There are so many things that wouldn't make sense if you were limited to five dice. There are investigators with a skill that goes up to 6, items like the Tommy Gun that give +6 to something. And there's the bit where skill checks requiring 3 successes would be pretty much impossible, and even two would be hard. Combat should often involve more than five dice, and it's quite possible to get yourself up past ten dice - I think they just figured it wasn't really feasible to give you enough dice for any possible situation.