Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The game manual says that if you conquer an enemy scout that is alone, you can take a loot as if you had won a battle. It doesn't specify that it is a battle.

The reason we need to know is for Code of Laws. Upon winning a battle, you can get a coin token to place on that research for future investing. So is conquering a scout that is alone considered a battle?

share|improve this question
    
In the PC edition, killing a Scout does not net a benefit a la looting or similar. –  warren Jul 2 '13 at 15:00
    
The manual does say that loot is gained, and it has already been made known that a battle does not take place. –  ardavis Jul 2 '13 at 19:49
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

No. If you aren't drawing square unit cards, a battle isn't taking place

From the FFG rule book (page 23)

Battle is the struggle of one civilization against another for dominance. When an army figure moves into a square containing a village marker, an enemy army figure, or an enemy city, a battle takes place.

If you had continued reading the section ENEMY FIGURES, you should have realized that.

Scouts cannot enter a square containing enemy figures. If an army enters a square containing any enemy figures, its movement immediately ends. If the square contains only enemy scouts, the scouts are immediately killed and the attacking player collects loot as though they had won a battle (see page 25). If the square contains at least one enemy army, a battle occurs (see page 23). If the square contains a mix of both enemy armies and scouts, a battle occurs, but if the losing side in the battle has any scouts in the square, they are killed along with the armies; loot is then collected as normal.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for this, I did read that, but it doesn't say "only if" which is why I wanted to ask. –  ardavis Jun 29 '13 at 15:43
    
Huh? What says, "only if"? IF [...] only enemy scouts THEN [...] kill scouts collect loot. IF at least one enemy army THEN battle. If a mix of scouts/armies THEN battle AND IF loser has scouts kill them too. –  user1873 Jun 29 '13 at 19:24
1  
I understand what you're saying, trust me. I'm saying that it just says, "If the square contains at least one enemy army, a battle occurs". It does not say that if the square contains only an enemy scout that a battle occurs. The second block doesn't help verify the answer, but the first part definitely did. So you did answer it, and I marked it as correct. No worries, sir. –  ardavis Jun 30 '13 at 3:09
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.