Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

One of the newly spoiled cards in Magic 2014, Strionic Resonator, allows you to copy a triggered ability you control. This allows you to copy any of a number of things that previously would happen only once.

If you used this card to copy a miracle trigger such as Terminus, what happens?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

You can choose whether to play the card for its Miracle cost on the original or on the copied trigger, or not at all, but not twice.

From the comprehensive rules:

702.93. Miracle

  • 702.93a Miracle is a static ability linked to a triggered ability (see rule 603.10). "Miracle [cost]" means "You may reveal this card from your hand as you draw it if it's the first card you've drawn this turn. When you reveal this card this way, you may cast it by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost."

  • 702.93b If a player chooses to reveal a card using its miracle ability, he or she plays with that card revealed until that card leaves his or her hand, that ability resolves, or that ability otherwise leaves the stack.

The triggered ability that gets copied is the "you may cast it (the card) by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost" part.

So now you have the revealed Miracle card in hand, and 2 of those triggers on the stack.

When the first trigger resolves, you may choose to play the card for its Miracle cost.

If you do, you cast it, and eventually the 2nd trigger gets to resolve. However, the card the trigger refers to is no longer in your hand and the trigger simply vanishes without further effect. That also applies if another effect (such as Remand) returns the card to your hand before the second trigger resolves, because it's a new object.

If you don't cast the card on the first trigger, the card will remain in your hand, revealed, and you may choose to cast it for its Miracle cost on resolution of the 2nd trigger.

share|improve this answer
Technical note in case anyone else tries to follow the logic of 702.93b in this case. The card is revealed until the original ability resolves, however the original ability is the 2nd trigger in your explanation as the duplicate is the first to be resolved (due to going on the stack above it). – Guvante May 6 '15 at 18:20

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.