Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

With the vast richness of magic rules on all the cards and the comp rules, is there any way at all to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed?

Typically, per the rules, you can only activate them once per turn as a sorcery, but are there any ways around this? Since the "golden rule" of magic is that when a card and the comp rules conflict, the card text wind, I figured there might, possibly, be a way around the restriction.

Relevant rule we are trying to dodge:

606.3. A player may activate a loyalty ability of a permanent he or she controls any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of his or her turn, but only if no player has previously activated a loyalty ability of that permanent that turn.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 14 down vote accepted

There used to be a long shot that could make this happen:

  • You start by playing the Mycosynth Lattice which turns all your permanents into artifacts, including planeswalkers.

  • Then you play March Of the Machines, turning your planeswalker into an artifact creature with power and toughness equal to its casting cost.

  • Then you use the ability of an Experiment Kraj to put a +1/+1 counter on the planeswalker artifact creature.

  • Now since the planeswalker artifact creature has a +1/+1 counter on it, the Experiment Kraj can use all of the activated abilities of the planeswalker without any of the restrictions of a planeswalker.

Sadly since the time of that post they have extensively written into the rules that there is no way to use a loyalty ability of a permanent in any way other than a sorcery and it can only be used once per turn.

209.2. An activated ability with a loyalty symbol in its cost is a loyalty ability. Loyalty abilities follow special rules: A player may activate a loyalty ability of a permanent he or she controls any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of his or her turn, but only if none of that permanent's loyalty abilities have been activated that turn. See rule 606, "Loyalty Abilities."

606.3. A player may activate a loyalty ability of a permanent he or she controls any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of his or her turn, but only if no player has previously activated a loyalty ability of that permanent that turn.

To date with the exception of copying an activated ability, there is no way to use a loyalty ability more than once and you can never use them at a time other than when you could cast a sorcery, because they have restricted the use of the loyalty ability itself, not just the way a planeswalker specifically uses them.

share|improve this answer

There's no wayto do so. Rule 606.3 says that it has to be that players turn and that player needs to have priority on the stack. None of this conditions is satisfied. But you can use Worst Fears from Journey into Nyx or Sorin Markov's -8 ability or Mindslayer form Scars of Mirrodin and gain control of your planeswalker. That's the only way I suppose.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.