Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am confused by this rule:

606.1. Some activated abilities are loyalty abilities, which are subject to special rules.

Now that seems to imply that a Loyalty ability is an activated ability which means it can be stopped by something like Stifle or Squelch.

Is this correct?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes, it's correct. The rule you quoted implies that loyalty abilities are activated abilities. And since there is no rule that makes an exception for loyalty abilities, they can be countered like any other activated ability.

Remember that countering an activated ability only stops it from resolving. The costs paid are not returned. So the loyalty counters added or removed are not restored.

share|improve this answer
My friend put it best, "This made no sense until someone said it outloud." – Pow-Ian Jul 2 '13 at 15:27

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.