Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

With Lullmage Mentor:

Lullmage Mentor

Can I attempt to tap less than 7 creatures with his second ability? I know it would not activate his second ability, but can I at least make the attempt to tap 7?

Basically can I intentionally fail to tap 7 creatures and those creatures still get tapped?

share|improve this question
1  
I don't know the specific rule that says so, but I'm pretty certain that you can't –  Sam I am Jul 3 '13 at 16:27

1 Answer 1

up vote 10 down vote accepted

No you can't. due to rule 117.3

117.3. A player can’t pay a cost unless he or she has the necessary resources to pay it fully. For example, a player with only 1 life can’t pay a cost of 2 life, and a permanent that’s already tapped can’t be tapped to pay a cost. See rule 202, “Mana Cost and Color,” and rule 602, “Activating Activated Abilities”


the text: "tap 7 merfolk" is before the :, and therefore it's a cost. You can't pay or attempt to pay that cost unless you are able to pay it fully.

share|improve this answer
    
tyvm! Have a good day. –  prolink007 Jul 3 '13 at 16:45

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.