Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.
If you discard 3 fish, you may draw one card from the hand of one of your opponents (Resource or Commodity Card).
If you discard 4 fish, you may take resource card but not a commodity.
The following applies also for the combination with Cities & Knights: Fish are no resources – and no commodities. This implies
that fish are never affected by Progress Cards, particularly not by
the yellow Progress Cards.