Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.
  1. I attack with Sengir Vampire which is a 4/4
  2. My opponent declares four 1/1 blockers

Would Sengir Vampire die or would it gain counters from the three 1/1 creatures that died before attacking the last 1/1 blocker? Thus allowing it to survive while killing the four 1/1 blockers.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

All of the creatures will deal their respective damage at the same time. Since Sengir Vampire's +1/+1 ability is a triggered ability, it uses the stack, and before any of the +1/+1 counters go onto the Vampire, it will die.

State-based actions (like death from damage) will happen before the triggered ability on the stack can resolve.

If any of the creatures involved have first strike, however, this changes things:

  • If the Sengir Vamire has first strike, it will deal it's damage before the blockers, killing them before they have a chance to deal damage, giving it the +1/+1 counters
  • If the blockers have first strike, they deal damage to the vampire before it deals damage to them, killing the vampire while they remain alive
  • If all parties have first strike, the outcome is the same as if none of them did.
share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.