Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

So, at the Prerelease this past weekend I pulled a Dismiss Into Dream from the packs I won.

I LOVE the flavor of this card and I think I could abuse it. I wanted to check on rulings though:

  1. Dismiss Into Dream + Living Inferno: Would I be able to declare the targets and then they would all have to be sacrificed before they dealt damage to Living Inferno? And furthermore, could I choose any number and just have them all take 0 damage?

  2. Dismiss Into Dream + Cauldron of Souls: Same sort of question: Could I target them then they have to be sacrificed before the creatures get Persist?

share|improve this question
    
A lot of 7 drops can be "abused" - I think the idea is if you can play a 7 drop in a constructed format, it really should win you the game. –  corsiKa Jul 15 '13 at 19:44
    
@corsiKa I almost exclusively play casual and limited. And the casual I play is very, very slow multiplayer (most often) which means we get to set up grand strategies and execute them. It's a pretty good time and this card fits perfectly into what I play. –  Milo Gertjejansen Jul 15 '13 at 19:49
    
@MiloGertjejansen Here's a gatherer search with more "any number of target creature" options. Sway of Illusion in particular seems to fit perfectly mechanically and thematically. A board wipe when Dismiss into Dream is in play, and draw a card, all for the low cost of two mana! Artful Dodge also seems an exceptional fit. –  ghoppe Jul 16 '13 at 18:20
    
@ghoppe Thanks! I did see those and I added them to my deck list. I am getting pretty excited for this deck with the release of M14. –  Milo Gertjejansen Jul 16 '13 at 22:37
    
Just remember to target one of your own creatures with Sway of illusion so that it still resolves and you get your card! :) –  Affe Jul 22 '13 at 21:41
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Yes, it is powerful, but for 7 that is to be expected.

Targeting a creature affected by Dismiss Into Dream will have them sacrificed before the spell/ability targeting them resolves. This is because the effect created by Dismiss Into Dream will go on the stack after the spell targeting the creature.

To address your specific questions:

No on your combo with living inferno, a ruling on gatherer prevents you from assigning 0 damage:

http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=96874

You divide the damage among the target creatures as you activate Living Inferno's ability. Each target must be assigned at least 1 damage.

Yes, on your combo with Cauldron of souls.

share|improve this answer
    
Oooo this makes me happy. I also am looking at Sea King's Blessing for a U board wipe.. This is extra good since I play multiplayer often, this sort of thing tends to pay off quite well. Thanks for the answer! As a side note, I did read your first paragraph, with the stack. So wouldn't Living Inferno get dealt a ton of damage after all the creatures are sacrificed? Or does his ability look for the creatures at the time of resolution? –  Milo Gertjejansen Jul 15 '13 at 19:04
    
@MiloGertjejansen good question... I do not know the answer. The damage dealt to living inferno is determined at resolution time while the creatures are in the graveyard. –  Colin D Jul 15 '13 at 19:16
    
Yeah, that's something I would have to look into. Also, it applies for the Cauldron: The cards would be in the graveyard when they gained persist in which case, they probably wouldn't return at all, since they didn't die with persist. –  Milo Gertjejansen Jul 15 '13 at 19:50
    
For the cauldron, they would not come back. The wording on persist says something like 'when a card with persist goes to the graveyard and does not have a -1/-1 counter' IIRC. They would be in the graveyard before having persist. –  Colin D Jul 15 '13 at 19:53
1  
Living Inferno's ability fizzles. It never takes damage –  Sam I am Jul 15 '13 at 21:45
show 3 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.