Let's set up a simple example to illustrate what I'm getting at:
- A player has a city bordering an ore tile, and they are the only player with a settlement bordering an ore tile.
- There is only 1 ore resource card left in the "bank".
- Someone rolls for resource production and it causes the ore tile to produce 2 ore for the city owned by the player in question.
Do they get the 1 remaining ore resource card?
Personally, I would assume no. The rules do state that if there are not enough resources of a given type to distribute, nobody gets anything. But this situation is a little different just because there is only one player receiving resources.
I'll note that I've never actually had this happen, but am working on a computer based simulation and am trying to be precise.