Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I cast Wistful Thinking on my opponent, whose hand has two Mountain cards. Wistful Thinking resolves and my opponent draws a Shock and another Mountain.

Can my opponent cast Shock before discarding it?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 8 down vote accepted

No they can not cast the Shock.

Comprehensive rule 608 all parts.

The fact that the card text contains 'then' does not make the two parts seperate abilities. The whole effect of drawing then discarding happens in that order while the spell resolves. There is time in between drawing and discarding for the new information to be reacted upon, however there is no break in the resolution.

There is no passing of priority until the spell completely resolves, and thus no opportunity to cast the instant.

share|improve this answer
1  
The whole effect doesn't happen at once, first two cards are drawn, then a moment later four cards are discarded, even if they are part of the same ability. Still, this rarely matters, because nothing can be played in between both actions. –  Pablo Jul 23 '13 at 14:07
    
good point. the use of 'at once' is a bit inaccurate since they would happen in order and there would be time in between the two actions for the player to react. –  Pow-Ian Jul 23 '13 at 15:19
    
Depends on what you mean by "react", there is no time in which a player gets priority, so a player can't actually "do" anything in between. –  GendoIkari Jul 24 '13 at 13:59
    
by 'reacted upon' I mean they get to decide which of the cards now in their hand, including the ones they just drew, will be discarded. –  Pow-Ian Jul 24 '13 at 14:12
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.