Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I activate a creature ability that puts creatures on the battlefield, can my opponet counter it with a counter target creature spell?

share|improve this question
for clarification, what are the names of the cards involved? – Sam I am Jul 24 '13 at 19:52

No, you can't counter an ability with an effect that says counter target spell. You can only counter a spell

One of the reasons why people play aether vial, because you can't counter creatures put into play with aether vial

You need to pay attention to the wording of the ability. Because if the ability says that you can "cast" the creature such as Garruk's Horde, than it does take the form of spell, and can therefore be countered.

But if the ability says to put it onto the battlefield than it's not a spell, and can't be countered

share|improve this answer
Given what the OP said, it probably says "counter target creature spell". But this is of course right - an ability putting creatures onto the battlefield is still not a creature spell. – Jefromi Jul 25 '13 at 0:12

No, for the reasons Sam cited. But he could probably counter it with a spell like this, if he really wanted to:

enter image description here

share|improve this answer
But only if you have the judge foil Stifle; normal ones aren't strong enough. – Jefromi Jul 25 '13 at 17:19

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.