Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If both of these cards are on the field, how are their effects resolved?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

No Monsters can be Special Summoned. Both Monsters have a Continuous Effect (page 14 of PDF) that is active while they are on the field. BSotAbyss blocks all non-DARK Monsters from being special summoned, so when you Attempt to Special Summon a DARK Monster, it is BSotHeaven that blocks you, and vice versa when you Special Summon a LIGHT Monster, it is BSotAbyss that blocks you.

This effect is active while the Effect Monster Card is face-up on the field. The effect starts when the face-up monster appears on the field, and ends once that monster is gone or is no longer face-up; [...]

The Barrier Statues prevent any Special Summoning, unless the Monster is of a matching Atribute (page 11).

Barrier Statue of the Abyss - No monsters can be Special Summoned, except for DARK monsters.

Barrier Statue of the Heavens - No monsters can be Special Summoned, except for LIGHT monsters.

share|improve this answer
    
Good! I like the response! Is it fair to say if a monster is both "Dark" AND "Light" then you could summon it? I know of at least one monster that becomes both attributes once on the field, but it couldn't enter the field because from the hand it is only light. Are there cards which are both of these attributes in your hand, because then you could summon such a card because if you combine these effects it reads "No monsters can be Special Summoned, except for "Dark and Light" monsters", as in they must have BOTH attributes. –  Squirtle Jul 25 '13 at 16:35
    
@Squirtle, I know of no such card with dual attributes, but if it existed, it could be special summoned with both Barrier Statues on the field. You don't combine the card effects, a DARK or LIGHT monster couldn't be Special Summoned (SS) because the opposite Barrier Statue prevents it. A DARK & LIGHT monster could be SS, because it has a quality that exempts it from both Barrier Statues. –  user1873 Jul 26 '13 at 3:04
    
Yes! When I said "combine" I meant their "intersection" not their union.... or in this case, the union of their constraints. –  Squirtle Jul 26 '13 at 3:56
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.