Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Settlers of Catan, it says you need a road to build a new settlement (placement rules apply). If you have the resources available to build both at the same time, can this settlement be played wherever the player wants it to go?

share|improve this question
up vote 26 down vote accepted


Your first two settlements (placed during set-up) are special and can be placed in any valid position on the board, after that new settlements must be connected by road to existing settlements.

The relevant parts of the rules are:

  • Under building roads (bottom of page 4) it says "A new road must always connect to 1 of your existing roads, settlements, or cities."
  • Under building settlements (top of page 5) it says "Each of your settlements must connect to at least 1 of your own roads."

Note that you can build as much as you like per turn, so you could build several road segments and a settlement in the same turn (as long as you have the resources).

share|improve this answer

We just reread the rules on this and it says in the rules under ROADS "You cannot build new settlements without building roads" this implies you can plonk a road and a settlement down together (at the same time) which would mean you can place them away from your existing road/settlement!

share|improve this answer
There is no such implication in that sentence. The only implication of the sentence is that from your initial setup of two settlements and two roads, you cannot build a third settlement without first building a third road. – Chris Dodd Dec 27 '13 at 2:02
The implication is through the use of the word new in "new settlement" it's not there in other cases talking about building a settlement, therefore the implication is that the settlement is isolated and unattached – Terry Emp Dec 27 '13 at 2:07
in what sense does "new" mean "isolated and unattached"? – Chris Dodd Dec 27 '13 at 6:29

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.