Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I have two Thorncaster Slivers, do the other slivers I have get the "1 damage" ability twice?

If not, why? What rule makes it so they can't have the ability twice? If I had a different card with same ability would they get it twice? What if the different card had a slightly different wording? Or caused 2 damage instead of 1?

At what point would they start to stack( if ever)?

share|improve this question
    
Why the down vote? Kind of dumb to downvote with no comment why. –  Vaccano Aug 4 '13 at 1:46
    
+1 Useful question, especially given that a judge apparently told you the wrong thing. (Don't take the downvote too personally - it's helpful and polite but not required to explain. The dumb thing is downvoting without a good reason in the first place.) –  Jefromi Aug 4 '13 at 2:28
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Yes, they will have two copies of the ability:

112.2c An object may have multiple abilities. If the object is represented by a card, then aside from certain defined abilities that may be strung together on a single line (see rule 702, “Keyword Abilities”), each paragraph break in a card’s text marks a separate ability. If the object is not represented by a card, the effect that created it may have given it multiple abilities. An object may also be granted additional abilities by a spell or ability. If an object has multiple instances of the same ability, each instance functions independently. This may or may not produce more effects than a single instance; refer to the specific ability for more information.

Two copies of the triggered ability will mean two damage whenever a sliver attacks.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks. I thought they should, but the judge last night told me they do not. I will show this rule if it comes up again. –  Vaccano Aug 3 '13 at 22:44
add comment

Yes, you get two instances of the ability.

You can also reference the _Gatherer page for Thorncaster Sliver which has official rulings.

If you control multiple Thorncaster Slivers and a Sliver you control attacks, each ability will trigger separately.

If you change the creature type of a Sliver you control so it’s no longer a Sliver, it will no longer be affected by its own ability. Its ability will continue to affect other Sliver creatures you control.

Abilities that Slivers grant, as well as power/toughness boosts, are cumulative. However, for some abilities, like flying, having more than one instance of the ability doesn’t provide any additional benefit.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.