Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I have 5 slivers and one of them is a Thorncaster, will I need to assign the "1 damage to target creature or player" before or after my opponent declares blockers?

My guess is that it is as I attack, but I would like it to be after blockers are assigned.

share|improve this question
    
This is likely a duplicate or can be gleaned from the other questions that have been asked/answered recently relating to Thorncaster Sliver. –  Colin D Aug 6 '13 at 17:46
1  
@ColinD - You are right. I should have looked at that question. (Funny that we both used the same example of 5 slivers attacking.) –  Vaccano Aug 6 '13 at 17:55
    
As a side note, you often wouldn't want it to be after blockers are assigned. Since it is before blockers are assigned, you can use the damage to remove potential blockers –  bengoesboom Aug 6 '13 at 21:06
1  
I voted to reopen it. I explain why here. –  Pablo Aug 8 '13 at 10:35

2 Answers 2

up vote 6 down vote accepted

As with most abilities, you choose the targets as part of placing the ability on the stack. The damage is assigned and resolves before any blockers are declared.

I will cite ikegami's answer from another question related to Thorncaster Sliver.

http://boardgames.stackexchange.com/a/12644/3128

Here's what happens:

  1. You attack with five slivers. Five instances of Thorncaster Sliver's ability triggers
  2. You place the abilities on the stack in the order of your choice: (Best order used)
    1. You place PS#1's ability on the stack targeting the 2/2
    2. You place PS#2's ability on the stack targeting the 2/2
    3. You place TS's ability on the stack targeting the Blood Artist
    4. You place MS#1's ability on the stack targeting your opponent
    5. You place MS#2's ability on the stack targeting your opponent
  3. MS#2's ability resolves:
    1. Deal one damage to your opponent.
  4. MS#1's ability resolves:
    1. Deal one damage to your opponent.
  5. TS's ability resolves:
    1. Deal one damage to the Blood Artist
  6. The Blood Artist dies. Blood Artist's ability triggers.
  7. Your opponent places Blood Artist's ability on the stack targeting you.
  8. Blood Artist's ability resolves:
    1. You lose one life.
    2. Your opponent gains one life.
  9. PS#2's ability resolves:
    1. Deal one damage to the 2/2.
  10. PS#2's ability resolves:
    1. Deal one damage to the 2/2.
  11. The 2/2 dies.
  12. [Move on the Declare Blockers]

The emphasis is mine.

share|improve this answer

Before blockers are declared.


First of all, it's not combat damage, so it's not assigned. The ability triggers, the ability is placed on the stack, targets are chosen, the ability resolves, and the Sliver deals damage.

The ability triggers when the Sliver attacks, which means when it's declared as an attacker.

The ability gets placed on the stack the next time a player would get priority [CR 112.3c], which is still within the Declare Attackers step. That means the ability resolves and causes damage to be dealt in that step too.

My earlier answer covers a very similar scenario in detail.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.