Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This question already has an answer here:

When you attack with Thorncaster Sliver and the ability triggers, does it do the damage from the attack first or the ability first?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by ikegami, Jefromi, Johno, Colin D, David Z Aug 11 '13 at 5:16

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

This is answered by Do Thorncaster Sliver's triggered abilities go on the stack? and then by Does the Thorncaster Sliver's ability damage have to be assigned before or after blockers are declared?. This is the third time this has been asked this week! – ikegami Aug 9 '13 at 3:52

Ability, before blockers are even declared.

The ability triggers when the Sliver attacks, which means when it's declared as an attacker.

The ability gets placed on the stack the next time a player would get priority [CR 112.3c], which is still within the Declare Attackers step. That means the ability resolves and causes damage to be dealt in that step too.

My earlier answer covers a very similar scenario in detail.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.