Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I have Glacial Chasm, Power Conduit, and Coretapper out, during my upkeep can I wait for the cumulative upkeep on Glacial Chasm to go on the stack, activate Power Conduit to remove the age counter on the Chasm, and then move that to Coretapper in the form of a +1/+1 counter?

If I cannot, how would all of that interact? Would I have to pay 2 life per turn, but as long as I moved them it wouldn't be any more than that?

share|improve this question
2  
Hi Milo. I think it's time I introduced you to Eon Hub. Eon Hub, meet Milo. I think he'd like to get to know you. –  ghoppe Aug 13 '13 at 18:17
    
Well that is awfully fancy. And an artifact to boot! –  Milo Gertjejansen Aug 13 '13 at 21:46
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 8 down vote accepted

No, not quite. The age counter isn't actually placed on Glacial Chasm until the cumulative upkeep trigger resolves. When it resolves, as part of the same triggered ability, you must then pay two life for that counter or sacrifice Chasm. You can't remove the counter before you have to pay two life for it because you don't get priority while an ability is resolving.

You can, however, remove each counter immediately after the cumulative upkeep trigger resolves, meaning you pay only pay two life per turn indefinitely.

share|improve this answer
    
Ok, thanks! Two life isn't too bad.. For what Glacial Chasm provides. –  Milo Gertjejansen Aug 13 '13 at 17:53
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.