Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The barbarians come, and the player with the least amount of active knights has a city and 5 settlements on the board.

What happens?

The city would normally get knocked down to a settlement, but all of his settlements are already on the board.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 9 down vote accepted

You turn your city marker, and treat it as if it were a settlement. From the Catan FAQ:

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - What happens if I have to downgrade a city to a settlement but don’t have another settlement in stock?

Answer Turn one of your cities on its side and treat it as a settlement until you have upgraded it to a city again.

share|improve this answer
add comment

In the games we play I turn the city upside down (to act as a marker for a town) and declare the village supply to be at -1. The player will need to build at least two cities before (s)he can build another new village.

I tried finding an official ruling, but it does not seem to be mentioned in a manual.

Page 11 only has this, which completely ignores this not-quite-so-rare situation.

Part of page 11

[Edit] The computer game Catan: Cities and knight from Catan GmbH seems to agree with this.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.