Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Android: Netrunner, Cyberfeeder is a piece of hardware that reads:

1 [Recurring credit]

Use this credit to pay for using icebreakers or for installing virus programs.

I'm interested in the "using icebreakers" clause. I know I can use it for icebreakers' paid abilities, such as 1 [Credit]: +1 strength or 1 [Credit]: break ice subroutine, but I was wondering if it can also be used for other effects like this one of Darwin's:

When your turn begins, you may pay 1 [Credit] to place one virus counter on Darwin.

Does "use" apply to this kind of cost, or just to paid abilities?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

This is answered in the Android: Netrunner FAQ (page 10):

Can the Runner use the recurring credit on Cyberfeeder to pay for using Femme Fatale’s bypass ability or Darwin’s gaining counters ability?

Yes. Triggering any ability on an icebreaker is considered to be using it.

share|improve this answer
Great, as I suspected. Just wasn't sure what counted as an "ability". – Johno Sep 1 '13 at 18:30
Cyberfeeder doesn't say it has to be used for a paid ability, just for using. You can use it to increase Atman's strength too! – Nick Sep 2 '13 at 11:02

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.