Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I think i got this right, but I'd like to make a sanity check.

If you cast Wake the Reflections with Young Pyromancer in play, the pyromancer's trigger will resolve first, so that you will get a token to populate even if you originally had none, right?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

You are absolutely correct. When a "Whenever you cast" trigger is triggered, the ability will go on the stack above the spell that caused it, meaning it will be resolved first.

Here's the sequence of play.

  • I cast Wake the Reflections. Populate does not require selecting a target, so I don't have to make any choices about it when the spell goes on the stack.
  • Young Pyromancer's ability triggers ("Whenever you cast") and goes on the stack. This puts it above Wake the Reflections on the stack.
  • (Both players pass, so the top of the stack resolves.) We resolve Young Pyromancer's ability, creating an Elemental token.
  • (Both players pass, so the top of the stack resolves.) We resolve Wake the Reflections. I make a new token of any type I already have, including the 1/1 red Elemental I got a second ago.
share|improve this answer
I have a new deck idea... and the only rare I'll need is that new theros god, Purphoros. Mwahahahah – Circeus Sep 4 '13 at 16:44
If populate said "target token", then this wouldn't work, right? – GendoIkari Sep 5 '13 at 12:36
@GendoIkari Targets are chosen as part of casting the spell, yes. – Alex P Sep 5 '13 at 12:52

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.