Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

According to wikipedia on RKCB, after an 03 or 14 response

...the 4NT bidder may ask about [the queen] using the cheapest bid other than five of the trump suit. The code for replies to that "queen ask" vary; a common rule is that the cheapest bid in the trump suit denies the queen or extra length and any other call shows it.

Sometimes though, a call of 5NT is only available to show the queen (Example: 1S - 4NT - 4D - 4H --> 5NT - shows the queen). So now assume I find out we have together all 5 keycards and the queen, so now how do I ask for kings? Is there a standard simple non-nonsense way that most casual/random partnerships use? (5NT that I'd use to ask for kings is wasted ...). I'd assume that would be now bidding: 6C (and responses to it 6D - 0 kings, 6H - 1 king, 6S - 2 kings, 6NT - 3 kings). Right? (P.S. I'm looking for most simple straight-forward non-nonsense common way here...

In other words, how do I ask for kings in RKCB (as opposed to regular Blackwood)? (since 5NT is now occupied by queen ask)

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

You should use specific king asks instead of count asks. In this auction, opener's 5NT denies any side suit kings; Eddie Kantar in Roman Keycard Blackwood suggests that it show a side queen, singleton, or doubleton, with a jump to 6S denying even that much. Kantar then suggests that a cue bid by responder is a grand slam try, looking for a third-round control in the suit bid.

1S-4NT-5D-5H-6C would then show the spade queen and the club King.

1S-4NT-5D-5NT asks for a specific King, promising all key cards; opener bids their cheapest K.

Obviously, this requires some discussion with partner, but not much more than "Q ask with specific Kings, 5NT specific K ask"; third-round asks and distinguishing 5NT/6S responses to the Q ask should not be used outside an established partnership.

share|improve this answer
    
thanks for feedback –  user5185 Sep 28 '13 at 17:32

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.