Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Here is the situation that came up:

Player 1 controls a creature enchanted with Ordeal of Heliod and two +1/+1 counters. On Player 2's turn, they cast Portent of Betrayal to take control of the creature, and then attack with it. The attack triggers the Ordeal, putting another +1/+1 counter on it. Now that it has three counters, it is sacrificed and a player gains 10 life.

Which player sacrifices the enchantment and gains 10 life? The controller of the creature (Player 2) or the player who cast the enchantment (Player 1)?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 12 down vote accepted
  • In Magic, "you" refers to the current controller of a permanent.
  • Changing control of a creature does not change control of the Auras or Equipment attached to it.

Thus, when the Ordeal triggers, Player 1 (the player who cast the Aura) still controls it even though Player 2 (the player who cast Portent of Betrayal) now controls the creature it enchants.

Technically you could even enchant an opponent's creature from the get go (since it says "Enchant creature," not "Enchant creature you control").

share|improve this answer
add comment

Only the player who controls a permanent can sacrifice it. Since it is the enchantment that must be sacrificed, the player who controls the enchantment, player 1, does so; and since the enchantment says "When ~ is sacrified, you gain 10 life," player 1 is the one who gains the life.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.