Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What color do I need to block a bestowed creature which got intimidate? Example: I cast a black bestow aura which grants intimidate on a blue creature. Do I need a blue creature to block it?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Yes, only blue (or artifact) creatures can block it.

Cavern Lampad unfortunately doesn't include reminder text for Intimidate, but if it did, it would say "This creature can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or creatures that share a color with it.". It's granting the ability to your blue creature, so it's that creature's color that matters. Yes, Cavern Lampad does also itself have intimidate, but that's irrelevant; you're attacking with the enchanted creature, not the Lampad.

Sometimes Auras do actually have abilities, as opposed to granting abilities to the creatures they enchant. For example, Crown of Flames has the firebreathing ability ({R}: Enchanted creature gets +1/+0 until end of turn), while Dragon Mantle gives that ability to the creature it enchants ("Enchanted creature has {R}: This creature gets +1/+0 until end of turn."). But in the case of intimidate, it has to be like this, with the creature, not the aura, having the ability. You're attacking with the creature, not the aura, so for intimidate to do anything, the creature has to have it!

share|improve this answer
    
Now we just need an aura that says "Enchanted creature is blue" - mwahaha –  corsiKa Sep 30 '13 at 15:28

Yes, you need a blue and/or artifact creature to block a blue creature enchanted with Cavern Lampad

From the Basic Rule book

Intimidate

A keyword ability seen on creatures. A creature with intimidate can’t be blocked except by creatures that share a color with it and/ or artifact creatures. For example, a red creature with intimidate could be blocked by a red creature, a red-and-green creature, or any artifact creature. Intimidate only matters when the creature with the ability is attacking.

From the Comprehensive Rules

702.13. Intimidate

702.13b A creature with intimidate can’t be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or creatures that share a color with it. (See rule 509, “Declare Blockers Step.”)

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.