Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Card Day of the Dragons says the following:

Day of the Dragons card

When Day of the Dragons leaves the battlefield, sacrifice all Dragons you control. Then return the exiled cards to the battlefield under your control.

Note the part I've highlighted. What exactly does that mean?

For example, if I invoke a dragon card after using the enchantment (Dromar, the Banisher for example), when the enchantment leaves play do I have to sacrifice both my 5/5 Dragon tokens and Dromar?

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted

Yes, you would have to sacrifice all dragons creatures and creature tokens under your control, regardless of where they came from or when they were cast. All Dragons means all permanents (creatures, tokens) that have have Dragon in their supertype or subtype. "Under your control" should be clear.

share|improve this answer
Since it say you control, if I cast a card control (instant) on an opponent's dragon before the enchantment leaves play, I'll have to destroy it also, right? Anyways, that's sad I have to destroy dragons unrelated to the enchantment also. Thanks for answer. – RaphaelDDL Sep 30 '13 at 20:39
Yup, that's what I was trying to get at with "regardless of where they came from". Similarly, you would sacrifice any Dragon tokens under your control created by any other spells/abilities. – Gregor Sep 30 '13 at 20:43
pair this with a clever use of Ego erasure and Naturalize and you can get all your creatures back and keep all your dragons. – Pow-Ian Sep 30 '13 at 20:44
@Pow-Ian This combo is so pretty and cheap mana cost! Thanks for pointing out. – RaphaelDDL Oct 1 '13 at 13:26
Thanks for asking the question, I would not have thought of it if you hadn't. – Pow-Ian Oct 1 '13 at 15:30

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.