Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The text on the Master of the Wild Hunt card:

At the beginning of your upkeep, put a 2/2 green Wolf creature token onto the battlefield.

Tap: Tap all untapped Wolf creatures you control. Each Wolf tapped this way deals damage equal to its power to target creature. That creature deals damage equal to its power divided as its controller chooses among any number of those Wolves.

The text states that each wolf deals damage. This implies that there are multiple damage sources. Can all of this damage be prevented at once, or need it be prevented from each source individually?

For example, look at Unbreathing Horde:

Unbreathing Horde enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it for each other Zombie you control and each Zombie card in your graveyard.

If Unbreathing Horde would be dealt damage, prevent that damage and remove a +1/+1 counter from it.

If multiple wolves deal damage to Unbreathing Horde simultaneously per Master of the Wild Hunt's activated ability, does it remove one +1/+1 counter per wolf, or just one +1/+1 counter?

share|improve this question
    
no, not unless first strike is involved. See: gatherer.wizards.com/pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=37113 for card with similar text and a ruling stating as much. –  Colin D Oct 8 '13 at 2:39
3  
@ColinD First strike doesn't have anything to do with this, because this isn't an attack, just damage being dealt. –  Jefromi Oct 8 '13 at 5:29

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

The text states that each wolf deals damage. This implies that there are multiple damage sources.

This is correct, but it's not relevant.

If you used Master of the Wild Hunt's second ability targeting an Unbreathing Horde, at most one counter would end up being removed no matter how many wolves you have. All the wolves deal their damage simultaneously, so the Horde is only dealt damage once, even if the damage comes from multiple sources. Unbreathing Horde's replaces the receiving of damage, not the receiving of damage by a source.

Compare

"If Unbreathing Horde would be dealt damage,"

with

"If Unbreathing Horde would be dealt damage by a source,"

Phantom Nishoba has a ruling confirming this.

share|improve this answer
    
I am confused. Wouldn't Unbreathing Horde get dealt damage a number of times equal to the wolves in play? Then it's ability would trigger that many times? So if there were 7 wolves, then it would end up losing 7 +1/+1 counters? –  Milo Gertjejansen Oct 9 '13 at 15:02
    
@Milo Gertjejansen, Nope, all the wolves deal their damage simultaneously, so the Horde is only dealt damage once. If it meant to replace damage dealt by a source, it would say so. –  ikegami Oct 9 '13 at 15:20
    
I see. It has more to do with the timing of the damage, not the number of sources. Thanks for clearing that up! –  Milo Gertjejansen Oct 9 '13 at 15:31
1  
Yep, and similarly, when creatures in combat deal damage, they all do so at the same time (unless first strike or double strike are involved). So all combat damage in this case counts as one instance of dealing damage, even if it is coming from multiple sources. –  David Z Oct 9 '13 at 23:41
    
@David Z, What are you talking about? There is no combat damage in this case. –  ikegami Oct 11 '13 at 5:10

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.