Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Master of the Wild Hunt says:

[...] {T}: Tap all untapped Wolf creatures you control. Each Wolf tapped this way deals damage equal to its power to target creature. That creature deals damage equal to its power divided as its controller chooses among any number of those Wolves.

The way that MotWH works is that you choose a single target creature, and when it resolves you tap all untapped wolves you control and they deal damage to the single target creature amd that creature divides its damage among the wolves.

How would you word the ability if you wanted each wolf to be able to target a different creature?

Does a template already exist for this functionality?

For example Raiding Party allows you to choose plains (not exactly targeting)

[...] Sacrifice an Orc: Each player may tap any number of untapped white creatures he or she controls. For each creature tapped this way, that player chooses up to two Plains. Then destroy all Plains that weren't chosen this way by any player.

and Living Inferno is only a single creature that is splitting its damage (the wolves would each target a single creature, but their might be multiple wolves)

{T}: Living Inferno deals damage equal to its power divided as you choose among any number of target creatures. Each of those creatures deals damage equal to its power to Living Inferno.

share|improve this question
    
@ikegami, I don't think a template exists either, but if it did it would be near official (so I included it). This card tripped me up when I first read it, I thought it targeted multiple creatures (living inferno also had some rules issues as well, if I remember right). If an approximate wording could be reached that wasn't ambiguous, that is what I am looking for. –  user1873 Oct 10 '13 at 4:10
1  
Say you target a 2/2 twice, a 3/3 once. How much damage would the new card deal back to the wolves? 2? 3? 5? 7? –  ikegami Oct 10 '13 at 11:53
    
@ikegami There's two options, both viable depending on the template: Option A) The two wolves that target the 2/2 can have 2 damage divided between the two as decided by the controller of the 2/2. The 3/3 deals 3 damage to the wolf that targeted it. Option B) The controllers of the 2/2 and the 3/3 divide the 2 and 3 damage among the three wolves as they choose. (By extension, if the 2/2 and 3/3 are owned by a single controller, he or she divides 5 damage among the three wolves as he or she chooses.) –  corsiKa Oct 11 '13 at 20:20
    
@corsiKa, There are far more than those options. The question stands: Could the OP actually specify what he wants the new card to do? –  ikegami Oct 11 '13 at 20:35
add comment

2 Answers

The easiest way to do it is to change the operation slightly. Instead of having each wolf deal damage, have the lord deal damage.

{T}: Tap all untapped Wolf creatures you control. ~ deals damage equal to the total power of those Wolves divided between up to X target creatures, where X is the number of Wolves tapped in this way. Those creatures deal damage equal to their power divided as their controllers choose among any number of those Wolves.

This would be a functional change, for example you could have a black wolf, like Carion Howler, and your opponent could have Darkwatch Elves, who has protection from black, on the board. Under my change, the damage from the howler could be dealt to the elves. Currently, it couldn't (even though the Master does the targeting, the wolf does the damaging). I think the simplicity of it allows for such a sacrifice.

share|improve this answer
    
This isn't exactly right. "{T}: Tap all untapped Wolf creatures you control. Each Wolf tapped this way deals damage equal to its power to up to X target creatures" could be interpreted to mean that each wolf could deal damage to each target, I.e. 3x 2/2 wolfs could deal 6 damage to 3 targets. –  user1873 Oct 10 '13 at 5:03
    
@user1873 You're right. I've come up with something I think will work, but it does make a minor change. I think the number of instances where it would change the outcome of the effect is minimal. –  corsiKa Oct 10 '13 at 5:30
    
Still has issues, it still sounds like you are dealing X damage to X creatures, instead of 2 (the normal power of the wolves) damage to up X target creatures. maybe this is the reason MotWH works the way it does. –  user1873 Oct 10 '13 at 6:25
    
@user1873 For whatever reason, my entire edit didn't show up. I'll either blame it on posting so late, or on my touchpad, which has been known to cause me to delete lines grumble grumble. Anyway, I added the appropriate text that was missing from last night. –  corsiKa Oct 10 '13 at 13:30
    
Well done. Damage division is done at activation time, so bouncing can still reduce damage dealt. For me, this was a key factor in an acceptable answer. It's unfortunate that ~ doing damage has a detrimental effect on flavour, but a functional change is inevitable. –  ikegami Oct 10 '13 at 13:44
add comment

I'd propose to use the fight keyword and go with something like this:

{T}: For each untapped Wolf creature you control choose target creature. Tap all untapped Wolf creatures you control. Each Wolf tapped this way fights the chosen creature.

share|improve this answer
    
This would be very different. Using Fight, the creature deals its full damage to each individual wolf. In the current version, the creature has to divide up its power between the wolves, and can only deal full damage to one. –  Jonathan Hobbs Oct 10 '13 at 10:37
    
@JonathanHobbs I understand you are referring to the situation when player chooses one creature as a target for more than one of his wolves. In such case I'm not really sure how the rules solve such situation. Do the multiple fights happen at the same time - each wolf deal its damage and receives full damage from the creature; or somehow one after another - the creature fights the wolves one-by-one till it dies, or survives and kills all of the wolves. In any case, to limit this problem the ability could be modified to say something like "For each wolf choose up to one different target" –  ykb Oct 10 '13 at 10:48
    
The text in your answer makes no sense. You refer to "the chosen creature" (singular) yet you made a choice for each wolf. And that's not even mentioning that "choose a target creature" would still only target one creature. (It means you would have to chose among the targeted creatures, one which there would be only one.) –  ikegami Oct 10 '13 at 11:57
1  
@ikegami A "choose target creature" statement is preceded by "For each untapped Wolf creature you control", hence it obliges a player to choose as many targets as they have untapped Wolves to activate the ability. –  ykb Oct 10 '13 at 12:26
    
@ikegami You can "choose target", and it's a wording that's often used when between choosing a target and doing something to it some other action takes place, just like in case of Time to Feed card. –  ykb Oct 10 '13 at 14:00
show 6 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.