Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Say I have 3 Boros Elite in play, and I decide to attack a player with all 3. Does it trigger Battalion? Since the card sais:

Battalion — Whenever Boros Elite and at least two other creatures attack, Boros Elite gets +2/+2 until end of turn.

Do the other 2 Boros Elites count as the 2 other creatures? Or do I have to attack with 2 different named creatures to activate Battalion?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted


Whenever a card refers to itself by name, it is referring to that specific instance of the card. Other cards with the same name are not affected or considered.

For a card to work in the way you describe, it would be worded significantly differently. Something along the lines of "Whenever Boros Elite and at least two other creatures not named Boros Elite...", or "Whenever Boros Elite and at least two other creatures with different names...". Examples where these restrictions are put in place are Escaped Shapeshifter and Gifts Ungiven

share|improve this answer
Thanks, I was playing a friendly ffa, and someone on the table told me otherwise, tried looking for some rules but couldn't find any. – Lyrion Oct 16 '13 at 14:19
the relevant rule is comprehensive rule 201.4 and 201.4a – Patters Oct 16 '13 at 14:43

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.