Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can I use an ability after an opponent uses an instant?

Example: Opponent casts Victim of Night on my creature. It reads:

Destroy target non-Vampire, non-Werewolf, non-Zombie creature.

Can I use Bubbling Cauldron's ability to sacrifice the creature he just attempted to kill?

1, Tap, Sacrifice a creature: You gain 4 life.

share|improve this question

Yes, you can do that. In Magic: the Gathering, most creature abilities are used like instants.

You should read the Basic Rules (PDF), page 10, if you're not familiar with the Stack and how spell casting works.

The situation you describe would work like this:

  1. Opponent casts Victim of the Night, choosing your creature for the target. It goes on the stack and doesn't resolve yet.
  2. Opponent chooses to cast nothing else yet and passes priority to you.
  3. You use Bubbling Cauldron's ability. That too goes on the stack and doesn't resolve yet. You pay the cost immediately, including sacrificing the creature targeted by Victim of the Night.
  4. You choose to pass priority so your opponent can respond. They choose to do nothing.

Now the top object on the stack resolves.

  1. Bubbling Cauldron's ability resolves first. You gain 4 life.
  2. Again there is an opportunity for your opponent or you to respond in turn, if neither of you do, the top object of the stack resolves.
  3. Victim of the Night resolves. Its target is gone, so it can't do anything. A new target can't be chosen. Victim of the Night goes to the graveyard.
share|improve this answer
What if after you pass priority, the opponent cast yet another Victim of the Night? Are you still able to sacrifice the creature to gain 4 life? – Pacerier Jul 5 '15 at 5:37

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.