Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've recently been told that a revived Obzedat, Ghost Council can escape Whip of Erebos's exile effect because you can exile it while the whip's effect's is on the stack, but wouldn't that trick (or the activate ability on Aetherling that can theoretically be used in the same way) merely run afoul of the whip's continuous effect that applies to the revived creatures?

If [the returned creature] would leave the battlefield, exile it instead of putting it anywhere else.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

The reason you can dodge the whip with an ability like that is the "instead of putting it anywhere else" clause in the whip's rule. That ability only applies if the card is going somewhere besides exile, it is fine with allowing the Ghost Council to be exiled by their own ability. So the Ghost Council is considered to have been exiled by its own ability, not by the whip, and its own ability will return it.

share|improve this answer
    
To me that doesn't follow from the "instead of" clause (and the very fact the wording was obviously done SPECFICALLY for that interaction I find frustrating). –  Circeus Oct 20 '13 at 1:52
    
Yes, this caused tons of questions when the Unearth mechanic that Whip of Erebos is based on was in standard. No idea why the didn't change the templating to make it more clear. –  Affe Oct 20 '13 at 7:10
    
Presumably you could also use something like Rainbow Efreet to phase itself out and so not be available to be exiled at the end of the turn? –  Nick Mar 10 at 14:29
add comment

Note the "anywhere else" condition.

If [permanent] would leave the battlefield, exile it instead of putting it anywhere else.

is a nice way of writing

If [permanent] would move from the battlefield to somewhere other than exile, exile it instead.

Since the Ghost Council and the Ætherling are being exiled from the battlefield, no event matching the ones Whip of Erebos replaces occur, no replacing occurs.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.