Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Shipwreck Singer has the ability:

1U: Target creature an opponent controls attacks this turn if able.

When can I activate this ability?

e.g. My opponent has a Manaweft Sliver. I say "attack if able" at the beginning of the draw step of my opponent. Can he now use the mana ability or does he have to honor my attack order and can no longer use its mana ability?

share|improve this question
1  
Blue mana is abbreviated with "U"; "B" is only for black mana. Shipwreck Singer's first ability thus costs 1U, not 1B. –  jwodder Oct 20 '13 at 21:19
1  
For this particular ability, you usually want to activate it at the beginning of your opponents combat step, before they declare attackers –  bengoesboom Oct 21 '13 at 17:52

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

He does have to attack you when he's able to. But when your opponent taps for mana, the creature stays tapped (tapping is part of the cost and cannot be interrupted), therefore it's not able to attack in his attack phase.

Even if your opponent activates the creata mana-ability in his main phase (later than your ability was activated), he still won't be able to attack. He's allowed to do that to prevent his sliver(s) from attacking.

share|improve this answer

"Attacks this turn if able" means: when the Attack phase comes around, if that creature is able to attack, it must. That doesn't come with an obligation to leave it able to attack, though, and your opponent may rightly wish to do something that leaves that creature unable to attack.

Your opponent can use Manaweft's Sliver ability. Then, when the Attack phase comes around, Manaweft Sliver won't be able to attack, and won't do so.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.