Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Lifelink typically says:

Lifelink (Damage dealt by this creature also causes you to gain that much life.)

Suppose I attack with a 5/5 creature which has Lifelink, and it's blocked by a 1/1 creature.

Do I gain 1 life or 5?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by doppelgreener, bengoesboom, Tynam, Joe W, Pablo Oct 5 at 22:22

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

2 Answers 2

up vote 3 down vote accepted

You will gain 5 life in that case. Creatures assign and deal damage equal to their power in combat and do not "Pull their punches" if the blocker happens to have lower toughness.

510.1a Each attacking creature and each blocking creature assigns combat damage equal to its power. Creatures that would assign 0 or less damage this way don’t assign combat damage at all

...

510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. No player has the chance to cast spells or activate abilities between the time combat damage is assigned and the time it’s dealt. This is a change from previous rules.

Assign equal to power. Deal what was assigned. Size of defender does not factor into it.

share|improve this answer

When a creature attacks (or defends), it deals damage equal to its power. As such, a creature which has 5 power will deal 5 damage and you will gain 5 life. Only damage prevention (e.g. Protection) can reduce that.

510.1a Each attacking creature and each blocking creature assigns combat damage equal to its power. [...]

510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. [...]

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.