Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If the runner bypasses an ICE behind a Chum (subroutine not broken) with Femme Fatale, does Chum's subroutine trigger and deal three netdamage to the runner?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes, you have encountered the next ice and so you will take 3 net damage if you don't break its subroutines. As you are bypassing the ice you will not have a chance to break the subroutines and so will take the 3 net damage as soon as the encounter ends.

This is explained the FAQ From FFG

share|improve this answer
So when you bypass an ICE you still encounter it? So the When the runner encounters ...-abilities (Pop-up window, Data Raven, etc.) still trigger? – sloth Oct 23 '13 at 6:45
Well all current bypass methods are worded so you encounter the ice before you bypass it. However, the FAQ states under bypass that any unresolved triggered conditional abilities from "When encounters..." the bypassed ice are not resolved. So the Dataraven triggers, but since the Femme is resolved first the DataRaven on encounter is left unresolved. – Nick Oct 23 '13 at 12:00

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.