Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Suppose I cast a Wild Ricochet onto a Clan Defiance. My Clan Defiance targets flying, non flying and player: can I redirect all of them?

If I do, can I choose the target to be all on the player or do the new targets have to be under same targeting rules?

share|improve this question

Yes, and no.

  • The choice of mode ("Choose one or more") cannot be changed.[CR 114.7]
  • The number of targets cannot be changed.[CR 114.6a]
  • Any number of the targets can be changed (including zero).[CR 114.6c]
  • The targeting conditions still apply.

For example, if the original spell targeted a flying creature and a player, the copy must also target a flying creature and a player.

Or in the example you gave, the copy will also have to target a flying creature, a non-flying creature and a player.

share|improve this answer

Yes, you can redirect all those targets. Wild Ricochet says "choose new targets" (plural), not "choose a new target" (singular).

No, you can't choose to target a player with all three effects. You still have to follow the targeting rules on the card, the same way the original caster had to - Wild Ricochet doesn't make you exempt to them.

share|improve this answer
So the choose new targets has to follow the cards requirements... Is there a green or red card that deals x dammage to how many targets or players you want so I could abuse wild ricochet – Michael Crook Oct 23 '13 at 14:00
That wouldn't work either. Damage division is done at casting time, and you can't have a single instance of the word "target" target the same object twice. e.g. If the original did 2 to creature A, 1 to creature B and 1 to opponent, you could do at most 3 damage to the opponent. – ikegami Oct 23 '13 at 14:03

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.