Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am the runner.

I have a Femme Fatale that targets a Data Raven and make a run on a server that is protected by that Data Raven.

When I encouter the Data Raven, both cards trigger (When you encounter that ice.../When the Runner encounters Data Raven...).

Can I choose in which order the effects apply (so I can choose to take the tag from Data Raven, then bypass it with Femme Fatale)?

Or is the order of effects fixed (first the effects of runner cards, then the effects of corporation cards, since it's the runner's turn)?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

The order is fixed. First the active player (the one who's turn it is) chooses the order for their own simultaneous effects (if any) then the other player chooses the order for theirs.

So no, you cannot take the tag and then bypass, you must bypass first, or not bypass and take the tag.

share|improve this answer
can you point me to the right section in the rules? – sloth Oct 24 '13 at 11:12
Its in the section about simultaneous conditional effects, somewhat towards the back of the rule book IIRC. – Nick Oct 28 '13 at 9:56
Simultaneous Effects, page 22. – Emil Lundberg Mar 4 '14 at 11:00

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.