Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was watching Wil Wheaton playing Betrayal at House on the Hill, and someone commented:

A comment from youtube

Can the Rabbits foot, or the Angels Feather (or anything else) avert the haunt? I can't see why not, but this seems like a special case.

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Both the Rabbit's Foot and the Angel Feather have extremely generic text; the Rabbit's Foot says once during your turn, you may reroll one die; the Angel Feather says When you attempt a roll of any kind...

The only restriction I can see is that both the Rabbit's Foot and the Angel Feather must be used by the player who revealed the Omen card and is making the Haunt roll. Both of those items specifically restrict the affected roll to the owner's rolls. The rules state that a Haunt roll is made at the end of your turn, but that means it's still your turn.

TL;DR: Yes, the owner of those items may affect a haunt roll that the owner makes.

share|improve this answer
The official FAQ states you can use angel feather on another's turn. – Styphon Nov 24 '13 at 14:50
@Styphon you can use the feather, but only for your own rolls (such as when defending against an attack). The rules around Haunt rolls are vague on who makes the roll ("Make a haunt roll", and similar, is the phrasing used everywhere), but you can't use the Angel Feather on somebody else's haunt roll. – Paul Marshall Nov 27 '13 at 2:00

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.